Last Multimedia Blogpost

Hey folks. This is my last post for one of my journalism classes. The main point is to reflect over what I have learned in the class and through posting on my blog. 
 
1.   What moments come to mind quickly when you think back over the class: good moments, bad moments, perplexing moments? 
 
I LOVED this class. Editing video and social media are two of my favorite things and getting a grade for something I love is definitely a treat. I loved covering something agricultural for our final project which was refreshing. Naturally it had it’s challenges, such as scheduling or conflicting opinions but in the end I really enjoyed my group members and their talents they brought. 
 
2.   What do these moments tell about you as a student, about the course, about the teachers?
 
These moments make me look forward to the classes ahead of my in the journalism school! I feel like I have been well prepared for most of the things that are going to come next. As a student, I love learning about this topic and these skills so I feel like I am in the right place. The course did well in preparing us in all different areas of multimedia and the teachers are very passionate about the topics as well. 
 
3.   What are you most proud of about your own efforts and accomplishments in the course?
 
I am proud of how my video editing, package writing and voicing of my tv/news packages. I love these so I find it easy to keep producing them. I also enjoyed watching my photography and videography skills improve as well.
 
4.   What has been your greatest challenge?
 
My greatest challenge was filming and managing the cameras from the j school lab. I hate short deadlines and I was always paranoid that I wouldn’t film enough broll or my camera would die so this taught me to plan ahead for my story and know exactly would be important to see and film for my pieces.
 
5.   What are you not satisfied with or what do you want to work on improving?
 
I want to continue improving on my videography skills. I understand this comes with time, however it is one of the most valuable skills you can have right now. I plan on investing a lot of time into it. 
 
6.   What have you learned about other than media making– perhaps about yourself, or about people, about learning or about storytelling? 
 
I have learned that something will always go wrong. People forget to turn on the mic, people will look at the camera instead of you, maybe you missed the shot for a still… it could be anything! What it has taught me is that you have to be persistent and roll with the punches. If you don’t get your shot, try again or make do with the best shots you have when editing. Also, it has taught me that you have to get up close and personal. Don’t be scared!
 
Absolutely loved this class and the people in it.
 
-TAL
Leave a Reply

